Holding Antisemites Accountable.

Close this search box.

Rashida Tlaib Beats Out Hamas Leader for 2023 Antisemite of the Year Title

Rep. Rashida Tlaib, Michigan Democrat, was declared “Antisemite of the Year” in the pro-Jewish group StopAntisemitism’s annual poll, beating out Hamas leader Ismail Haniyeh.

Ms. Tlaib was the top vote-getter in the online poll that drew more than 15,000 votes. Supermodel Gigi Hadid was the other of the three finalists.

StopAntisemitism called the award “long overdue.”

“Rep. Tlaib’s well-earned title reflects a long history of antisemitism, but her statements in the wake of Hamas’s October 7 attacks were particularly unconscionable,” said StopAntisemitism executive director Liora Rez.

“Tlaib not only victim-blamed Israel, but she also accused it of committing genocide against the Palestinians and continues to defend calls to ethnically cleanse Israel of Jews and genocide,” Ms. Rez said.

In an Oct. 8 statement, Ms. Tlaib blasted the “apartheid government” of Israel and called for “lifting the blockade, ending the occupation, and dismantling the apartheid system that creates the suffocating, dehumanizing conditions that can lead to resistance.”

More than 1,200 Israeli civilians were killed in the surprise attack by Hamas, which prompted the Israeli counterattack.

Ms. Tlaib was censured by the House on Nov. 7 by a 234-188 vote, “becoming only the 26th member of the House of Representatives in U.S. history to be censured by her peers,” said the StopAntisemitism press release.

Afterward, she said, “I’m the only Palestinian American serving in Congress, Mr. Chair, and my perspective is needed here now more than ever. I will not be silenced, and I will not let you distort my words.”

The group’s 2022 Antisemite of the Year was rapper Kanye West. Previous “winners” include Anuradha Mittal, chair of the Ben & Jerry’s board of directors; Palestinian activist Nerdeen Kiswani; and Rep. Ilhan Omar, Minnesota Democrat.

Ms. Tlaib had no immediate public comment on the award.